Original Post 3/9/2011
This post is what some may refer to as “making lemonade out of lemons.”A few days ago, I wrote about my disastrous sweet potato gnocchi experience.  After the meal, I still had a container full of leftover gnocchi to either throw away or eat later. I opted to save them, and to see if I couldn’t somehow make them work.The solution was soup.

Soup is an amazingly forgiving medium, you can put most anything in it and it will somehow work out.

To start out, I cooked some onions and garlic until soft, then sprinkled them with cumin, curry, chili powder, and perhaps some other ingredients I’ve since forgot. To that I dumped a can of diced tomatoes, and allowed this mixture to simmer and cook off some of the excess juices.

Picture
In goes 3 cups of chicken broth, and some frozen spinach. I also added a bit of finely chopped carrot at this point, giving it enough time to cook soft but still retain some firmness.
Picture
I let the mixture simmer about 10 minutes…
Picture
Lookin’ good already!! Full of flavor and veggies. Who says healthy can’t be yummy?! This is also a good point to do a taste test and balance out the flavors to your preference. I added a bit more curry powder and some salt and pepper.
Picture
In go the gnocchi. They had been refrigerated (along with their butter/rosemary/thyme sauce) and stuck together in a clump. I pulled them apart and dropped them in a few at a time. The gnocchi only take a few minutes to cook, so don’t put them in before you’re almost ready to serve! let them simmer for about 5 minutes, then enjoy!
Picture

The finished product was rich and flavorful, with the bright flavor of fresh spices mingling with the veggies. The gnocchi softened up and were perfectly delightful in this soup. They didn’t add or detract much to the flavor,  but since they weren’t expected to stand on their own as before, but rather to absorb into what was happenin’ around them, they seemed to work.  They basically became little vegetable dumplings and added a bit of extra substance to the vegetable soup 🙂

overall, A+ for a satisfying, fun, and healthy meal!

