Tags

, , ,

A few points: I’ve found an unused and somehow-got-misplaced copy of Photoshop in a random box this weekend. Although I’m still fiddling around and learning how to make it work for me, I think the effect it will have on the blog quality is dramatically noticeable. Unfortunately today’s pictures are not very successful, but I’m working on it! The Lemon-Blueberry Cupcakes, however, turned out looking as delicious in the pictures as they did in real life. Yes, the icing really was that blindingly vibrant.

Thinking about going back and retouching every picture I’ve ever taken.

Secondly, I am really sick of cake.

The Wilton  Decorating Basics course only requires one cake (6 cookies, or cupcakes) a week, but somehow I’ve ended up making at least twice that many, either for fun, practice, or special occasions. Apparently there is such thing as too much, and I am so glad to have a break and not have to play with any cake for at least a week now.

My final cake, i am pretty sure, is a devil in disguise. I’ve never had such trouble before. The plan was to make a four-layer cake by torting each of the two layers, spreading a chilled chocolate ganache over the top and bottom layers, and then spooning cherry pie filling in the middle. Unfortunately, the trouble started when the fillings immediately broke through the icing barriers I had put around the edges, and started dripping down the side of the cake.

At first I thought this wasn’t too much of a problem, really, I’d just spoon it back in and carry on. However, it continued to drip out the sides, and considerably thinned the icing i had already begun spreading on the sides of the cake. oops.

The result was a sloppy looking cake with icing literally sliding off the sides of it even as I frantically followed it with a spatula…not to mention an exceptionally messy kitchen.

Man, I don’t even wanna talk about it anymore.

Here’s the sorry-looking cake, a bit over-adorned with decoration in hopes of covering up the really awful icing job underneath.

Still a bit undecided as to whether or not to join in on the second course….part of me really wants to,  but another part of me doesn’t really want to invest any more money into this right now.  Will see how I feel the day before the signup deadline, as usual.

