A few months back, the catering company I work for served a truly magnificent dish of chicken with a slightly sweet, tangy yogurt sauce at a Red Cross banquet. When I sampled it myself, I knew immediately I HAD to add it to my home cooking repertoire. I vainly tried to memorize the recipe, but unfortunately to no avail….my memory ain’t that great, y’all. Its now gotten to the point that I can’t remember much of anything about it, except that it was delicious, and heaven help me if I’m ever going to replicate a recipe based off that measly bit of information.

Thus, I still haven’t been able to come up with a worthy substitute for the chicken and yogurt sauce I enjoyed that night, but i have found some pretty great alternatives from a broad variety of sources. I made this one the other night for dinner, and enjoyed it again reheated the next day. The Thai chilies were added simply because I found them in the refrigerator, and although how they got there is a mystery seeing how I did not buy them. They definitely added a vibrant kick to the dish, but I’m thinking the recipe would still be good without them.

I served with it was some steamed jasmine rice (my first ever attempt at steaming rice, and I daresay it was successful!) with a pot of jasmine tea infused with lemongrass rather than plain water, just to give it an interesting flavor boost.

______________________________________________________________________

Recipe adapted from Madhur Jaffrey’s recipe for Bangladeshi White Chicken Korma (published in At Home With Madhur Jaffrey)
(PRINTABLE RECIPE)

4 T Olive Oil
2 Cinnamon Sticks
2 Bay Leaves
1 1/2 t Cardamom (or 10 cardamom pods, if you so prefer. I didn’t have any and my powdered variety worked fine!)
1 onion. I sliced half of it and finely diced the rest.
2 lbs Chicken
1 T Finely Diced Ginger
4 Cloves Garlic, Finely Diced
1/2 C Sour Yogurt (plain yogurt plus 1 T lemon juice)
1 t Salt
1 Finely Chopped Chili (or more or less depending on personal preferences.

1. Bring oil to a high heat, and add cinnamon, cardamom, and bay leaves. Let them sizzle for a few seconds before adding in the sliced onions. stir and cook for a few minutes until the onions brown.
2. Add chicken pieces, stir and cook these for an additional 5-6 minutes until they are lightly browned.
3. Add chopped onions, ginger, garlic. Let these also cook a few minutes before adding in the yogurt and salt.
4. After adding the yogurt, allow the mixture to cook for 10 minutes.
5. Add chili and 3T of water. bring to a simmer, and cook gently for 10-15 minutes until the chicken is done.

