It’s been a while since I last posted, which is crazy since I’ve done a lot of stuff during the past week or two. The problem is, blogging takes a lot of effort, and I usually prefer to put my time into actually cooking and crafting, rather than sitting on the computer writing about cooking and crafting. Nevertheless, I do like to keep a record of what I do, and before I forget completely what’s what, I thought I’d jot down a quick list of some fun things I’ve tried 🙂

Eggplant Fries courtesy of The Hungry Mouse–BRILLIANT AND DELICIOUS. I wish i could have gotten them a bit crisper though, but the taste was great. I might try frying them twice next time. I fooled my whole family–no one guessed they were eggplant until I told them!

Taco Mini’s Courtesy of myself. Definitely a fun idea, and I can’t stop thinking of possibilities for using up the remaining Wonton Wrappers. Maybe it was a blessing that my potstickers failed.

Dealing With Peppers that won’t stop producing…so far I’ve froze them, dried them, pickled them, jellyfied them…I would just discard the ones I can’t possibly get around to using, but I know if I do that, at some point I’m going to want them and not have them. So, now I’ve managed to put up enough to last me for the next decade…and they’re still coming.

Homemade Sauerkraut. I found the recipe at FoodInJars.com. It’s so super easy—just shred the cabbage, salt it, and massage it to break it down, and then stuff it in a jar. Now it’s sitting on the counter, where it will spend the next few weeks fermenting, and I’m getting more and more impatient. Check back in a few weeks for pictures and results.

One of my favorite meals this week–a juicy oven-roasted chicken served with elegant hasselback potatoes, all flavored with a touch of garlic, lemon and thyme. Salad greens fresh from the garden, and drizzled with a light homemade Parmesan vinaigrette.

On the crafting front, I’ve been mostly working on some simple Christmas presents for friends and family. I figure I better give myself a head start if I’m going to make those good intentions a reality. I think I’m a little burned out on embroidery, so I’ve gone back to crochet and some stamp carving, which is going awesomely.

That’s a good enough update for now. I’ve got a few other post-worthy things to share, so maybe sometime in the future I’ll get around to addressing them!

ciao for now 🙂

 

 

