Tags

, , , ,

I looked at my calendar yesterday and panicked…how is it that I’ve only got a week of class left, and a moving date set for two weeks from now?? I don’t feel like I should be leaving yet…maybe I SHOULD find a job here afterall. I feel I’ve barely touched the iceburg of what Paris has to offer!!! Don’t get me wrong, I’ve seen a LOT of Paris. I do a lot of walking. I ride busses just so I can look out the window. I pick metro stops at random and wander around where ever I land. I’m pretty confident now when it comes to finding my way around the city….I rarely get lost, and sometimes I even find what I was looking for.

So how is it that there is still SO MUCH I haven’t seen?!!

I decided to set myself a challenge::: see 10 new things I haven’t seen already in 10 days. Starting today. No excuses. I’m not going away with regrets and shouldacouldawouldas. LETS DO THIS.

After class today, I was in the locker room and mentioned to a girl in my class that I was thinking about going out and seeing a museum or something. She immediately exclaimed that Musée d’Orsay was her favorite, even adding that she’d go again with me herself if she didn’t have a doctor’s appointment. So, with that recommendation, off I went.

The museum is located in the old Gare D’Orsay, or D’Orsay train station, which was hastily built in Paris on the event of the upcoming worlds fair in 1900. However, it was quickly outgrown and turned over for other uses before finding it’s current incarnation:: a beautiful venue for displaying some of the finest art in the world.

Monet and his Waterlily PondWhistler’s MotherA personal favorite of mine: Benouville’s Christian MartyrsDega’s Ballet Class

Also in the collection are Manet’s Luncheon in the Grass, Millet’s Gleaners (I used to always confuse those two), TONS of Monet,  Pissaro, Renoir, Rousseau…seriously, as someone who claims to appreciate art, it is embarrassing that it has taken me this long to  venture in.

To all who are traveling in Paris: I highly recommend it. It is worth the high price of admission (which, incidentally, I didn’t have to pay because I’m residing in Paris), and the line goes faster than it looks like it’s going (my excuse for not going before is that every time I’ve ever walked by there has been lines out the door and around the corner. Obviously this should have been a sign there was something worth seeing inside). Go straight to the top floor (impressionist paintings) and work your way down. Don’t miss the cool cutaway of the Paris Opera House and the architectural exhibits, I thought they were cool. Do research and know where to look for your favorite paintings before arriving so you don’t miss anything you want to see—it’s a big place!! Make a game out of finding the Statue of Liberty in the museum 🙂 Don’t come too late, they say they close at 6 but they usher you out at 5:30, so make sure you’ve got enough time.

I took a few pictures of the building (photography isn’t allowed in the galleries, and neither are cell phones, thank goodness)::

Taken from a high up platform on the top floor...still looks like a train station....

Taken from a high up platform on the top floor…still looks like a train station….the covered windows on the right are actually doors leading into gallery space that has been added on to the original building.

There are huge clock faces on the front of the museum, and from the top floors you can also take a peek out from behind them. It was later in the day and the sun was just right.....I love this shot. If you squint closely at 6 o'clock you can just see Sacre Couer on the horizon.

I love this shot. There are huge clock faces on the front of the museum, and from the top floors you can also take a peek out from behind them. It was later in the day and the sun was just right….you can’t even tell it had been raining. If you squint closely at 6 o’clock you can just see Sacre Couer on the horizon.

As I was walking away, I turned around in time to see the Eiffel Tower lit up behind D'Orsay, and putting on it's nightly show of light and sparkles. Sometimes I love Paris.

As I was walking away, I turned around in time to see the Eiffel Tower lit up behind D’Orsay, and putting on it’s nightly show of light and sparkles. Sometimes I love Paris.

No idea where I’m off to for day two tomorrow….got a couple ideas though so we’ll see where I actually end up. I’ll be back in the evening for another post!

